Home

I was determined to make a model out of wood for my personal logo to guarantee it’d be a unique logo. This was a pure trial and error exercise with more error than anything else but after I committed to it, I wasn’t going to let it go until I figured it out. Today’s post is just a run through on how I went about creating my little wooden model, I hope you enjoy …

Step 1

youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube. youtube.

Step 2

First I tried to steam wood for 2 hours to make it flexible enough to start bending into a form. The wood snapped instantly when I started to try bending it.

Step 3

Then I tried boiling the wood but it still snapped as soon as started bending.

Step 4

I tried soaking wood for 24 hours, still no luck.

Step 5

My last resort was microwaving wood, which obviously still did not work.

Step 6

After all these fails I realized youtube was NOT the way to educate myself on bending wood. I decided to reach out to everyone I could think of for some advice. Thats when my dad actually suggested I explore sculpting the wood from a block instead of bending it because of wood’s tendency to expand back to it’s organic form. This was a revelation.

CP-woodStep 7

Now that I steered my focus from bending wood, to sculpting it, I had to figure out how to do that. I was able to make a trip back home to use some of my dad’s tools and try my hand at sculpting. I started with a dremel tool and created my logo by drilling it out and created a very rough mock-up model.

 

Step 8

After calling around custom cabinetry shops and wood finishing stores to get some help cleaning up my model I had no luck, obviously. Until one employee at some random shop gave me an artisan’s number from Hyde Park Vermont who does custom jobs like this. Once I got in touch with him, he was very interested in what I was trying to create and invited me to his workshop to use his tools and get some guidance. We created a cylinder out of a dining room table leg, then carved out the center of it and finally, carved out the logo and cleaned it up with sand paper.

Throughout this whole experience I truly learned how to exhaust all my resources and go outside of my comfort zone. I am extremely excited with how my logo has turned out and glad I committed to making this work.

black-glass-logo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

